Spring Sports Tryout Information

Spring Tryout Information 2018:

All students must complete the online athletics forms and the physical release form (only once during the school year).  Once these forms are completed and submitted to the Athletics Office, a student may receive a clearance card from the office during regular business hours (Monday-Friday, 7:30 a.m.-3:00 p.m.).

Transfer students must meet in person with the athletic director to get a signature on his or her clearance card.

The clearance card MUST be given to the head coach prior to the start of tryouts.   Students will not be allowed to participate without a clearance card – NO EXCEPTIONS.

If you have specific questions regarding a sport, please email the coaches.

Girls’ Beach Volleyball (Coach Juliana Evens – jevens@cathedralcatholic.org)
Monday, February 26th 2:00-3:30pm at Wave Volleyball Club
Wednesday, February 28th 3:00-5:00pm at Wave Volleyball Club

Boys’ Volleyball (Coach Paul Araiza – paraiza@cathedralcatholic.org)
February 19th 1:00-3:00pm Claver Center Gymnasium
February 20th-24
Times TBA (Dependent on basketball playoff/practice schedule)

Girls’ Lacrosse (Coach Kristen Micho – kmicho@cathedralcatholic.org)
Tuesday, February 20th -​ Friday, February 23rd
3:45-5:15pm at Lower Turf Field

Boys’ Lacrosse (Coach Tommy Duerr – tduerr@cathedralcatholic.org)
Monday, February 19th – Friday, February 23rd

Softball (Coach Margaret Mauro – mmauro@cathedralcatholic.org)
Tuesday, February 20th – Friday, February 23rd 2:40 – 4:40pm

Boy’s Golf (Coach Joe Filippone – jfilippone@cathedralcatholic.org)
Monday, February 12th @ 3pm @ Santaluz Club
Wednesday, February 14th @ 3pm @ The Grand
Thursday, February 15th @ Rancho Santa Fe Golf Club @ 3pm
**There will be a cut after the first day and possibly the second day too
**Teams will be announced after the round on Thursday

Baseball (Coach Gary Remiker – gremiker@cathedralcatholic.org)

Varsity:
Saturday, February 17th  9:00 – 12:00pm
Monday, February 19th  9:00 – 12:00pm
Tuesday, February 20th  2:45 – 5:15pm (Final Varsity Roster Selected)

J.V./Frosh:
Saturday, February 17th  12:30 – 3:00pm
Monday, February 19th  12:30 – 3:00pm
Tuesday, February 20th  (JV Only) 2:45 – 5:15pm  (Final JV Roster Selected)
Wednesday, February 21st  (Frosh Only) 2:45 – 5:15pm (Final Frosh Roster Selected)

Boys’ Tennis (Coach Ron Marquez – rmarquez@cathedralcatholic.org)

Varsity:
Monday, February 12th – Wednesday, February 14th 2:45-5:00pm

JV:
Thursday, February 15th – Friday, February 16th 2:45-5:00pm

Badminton (Coach Dawn Lee – dlee@cathedralcatholic.org)
Monday, February 26th 6:15-7:30am
Tuesday, February 27th 6:30-7:30am
Thursday, March 1st TBA
**We will have practice in the mornings 6:30-7:45am with Fridays OFF!!
**Our matches are on Mondays and Wednesdays

Swim & Dive (Coach Colette Reid – creid@cathedralcatholic.org)
Varsity/JV Swim start date: Feb 20
Dive/Novice Start date: March 5

Track and Field (Coach Dan Geiger – dgeiger@cathedralcatholic.org)

Saturday, February 17th
8:00am Distance Runners Mission Bay Runner’s Bathroom
10:00am Invited Athletes Stadium

Monday, February 19th
8:00am Distance Runners PQ Canyon
10:00am Invited Athletes Stadium

Tuesday, February 20th
2:45pm All Athletes Stadium

Wednesday, February 21st
2:45pm All Athletes Stadium

Thursday, February 22nd
2:45pm Invited Athletes Stadium

Friday, February 23rd
2:45pm All Athletes Stadium