2019 Athletic Awards

The Cathedral Catholic Athletic department announced the 2019 Athletic Awards at a ceremony held on Monday, May 13. Congratulations to all of these deserving student athletes.



On May 20 the San Diego High School Sports Association will recognize 2 of our student athletes at an annual breakfast for their all-around outstanding performance in citizenship, sportsmanship, and academics at their respective schools. 

High School Sports Association Male Student Athlete
AJ Kuypers

High School Sports Association Female Student Athlete
Abby Tanuma

The Most Valuable Athlete Awards winners are selected by the Cathedral Catholic Coaches Council from a list of students that have participated in their respective fall, winter and spring seasons.

CCHS Academic Athlete of the Year – Male
Dakota Muth

CCHS Academic Athlete of the Year – Female
Mary Epperson

Most Valuable Athlete Fall – Female
Karenna Wurl

Most Valuable Athlete Fall – Male
Shawn Poma

Most Valuable Athlete Winter – Female
Isuneh Brady

Most Valuable Athlete Winter – Male
Miles McCormick

Most Valuable Athlete Spring – Female
Kathryn Lundh

Most Valuable Athlete Spring – Male
Jake Rons

Athlete of the Year – Female
Peyton Wilhite

Athlete of the Year – Male
Miles McCormick

Career Athletic Achievement Award – Female
Kaylee Stiffler

Career Athletic Achievement Award – Male
Tommy Gruwell

The Kevin Madden Award is given to an outstanding senior athlete who has participated in 2 or more sports during their entire career here at CCHS. This individual has also demonstrated to be a positive role model while participating at CCHS.

Kevin Madden Award – Male of Female
Lauren Munro

Coach Serrano Spirt Award

Fall Sports Gender Varsity Head Coach
Cross Country Boys’ None Dan Geiger
Cross Country Girls’ Mary Epperson Dan Geiger
Field Hockey Girls’ Rachel Brenk Kate Fixen
Golf Girls’ Olivia Schleicher Chris Grazier
Football Boys’ Rigney Herrera Sean Doyle
Sand Volleyball Boys’, Non-CIF Coley O’Connor Chris Griebenow
Tennis Girls’ Kate Harrington April Bisharat
Volleyball Girls’ Karenna Wurl Juliana Evens
Water Polo Boys’ Austin Smit Thomas Corcoran
Winter Sports Gender Varsity Head Coach
Basketball Boys’ Anthony “AJ” Maisano Will Cunningham
Basketball Girls’ Angelina Roque Jackie Turpin
Inline Hockey Boys’ Jonathan Montgomery Jon Parker
Rugby Boys’ Non-CIF William Hammond Glenn Irvine
Rugby Girls’, Non-CIF Aperila Veronese Glenn Irvine
Soccer Boys’ Diego Argueta Nate Hetherington
Soccer Girls’ Madelyn Sanford Dawn Lee
Team Tennis Co-ed, Non-CIF Riley Staal April Bisharat
Water Polo Girls’ Malea Malone Collette Reid
Wrestling Boys’ Joshua Sonn Jason Giglotti
Spring Sports Gender Varsity Head Coach
Badminton Coed Sophia Bosque Dawn Lee
Baseball Boys’ Tyler Reiter Gary Remiker
Golf Boys’ Patrick Jaksch Joe Filippone
Lacrosse Boys’ Oliver Mirer Tommy Duerr
Lacrosse Girls’ Claire Mollenkopf Kristen Micho
Sand Volleyball Girls’, Non-CIF Peyton Wilhite Juliana Evens
Softball Girls’ Marisa Estrada Margaret Mauro
Swim/Dive Boys’ Joshua He Troy Marcikic
Swim/Dive Girls’ Spenser Yousko Troy Marcikic
Tennis Boys’ Daniel Hidalgo April Bisharat
Track & Field Boys’ Casey Leonard Dan Geiger
Track & Field Girls’ Lauren Munro Dan Geiger
Volleyball Boys’ Maxwell Enriquez Bowie Haug
Multi-Seasonal Gender Varsity Head Coach
Cheer Coed, Non-CIF Mia Halladay Keith Lewis
Crew, Boys’ Coed, Non-CIF Sean Van de Grift Jeff Kiser
Crew, Girls’ Coed, Non-CIF Lauren Alberton Art Sloate
Dance Coed, Non-CIF Jackie Spelta Nicole Lucia
Equestrian Coed, Non-CIF None Dayle Fischer
Fencing Coed, Non-CIF Robert Pearson Stuart Lee
Sailing Coed, Non-CIF Kyle Gallagher Doug Hart
Surfing Coed, Non-CIF Thomas Schouten Yahuda Benhamo


Coaches Awards

The Richard Serrano Coach’s Achievement Award is presented to a Cathedral Catholic Varsity Coach for demonstrating and teaching the values of faith, commitment, and sportsmanship to the students of our athletic programs.
Jackie Turpin 

Joe Kilroy Assistant Coach of the Year
Rob Reiter 

Service Award
Jeremy Petitte 

View the photos on the CCHSDons Facebook page.